Tuesday, October 22, 2013

What's New at Speech2u: October Version

I'm loving Halloween month.  Have you seen any of the "gross" balls?  They are the squishy balls with water where you can squeeze them and see gross things inside the ball?

Yesterday we were playing with it, and I think a kid bit it and it EXPLODED all over my room-in my hair and all over my clothes.  So I'm loving all of Halloween except for the gross water ball toy part of it.

Some of the big news for me this month was passing the 1000 follower mark on Facebook!  That number blows me away.  I feel truly blessed to have the opportunity to interact with so many different talented Speech Language Pathologists from across the country.

Once a month, I take a few minutes to talk about what's new in my Speech2u store.  The rest of the month is spent talking about activity ideas, my parenting misadventures or just general silliness.

I was a little more productive in October:



First I added a Halloween Bundle.  Bundles are a good way to save money if you are looking for multiple activities in a certain skill area.  I'm selling these both individually and within the Halloween Bundle packet.  Here are the other products I have for sale:


Add it Up: Halloween quick play game:  This game is pretty motivating for kids.  Add up their points and the student with the most points wins.


Halloween Conversation Starters and WH questions.  Another easy activity focusing on WH questions and conversation starters-great for articulation carryover.


Trick or Treaters at the Door: This is a great product if you are in early intervention, preschool or kindergarten settings or if you LOVE the wheels on the bus songs.  I wrote the lyrics for the Trick or Treaters at the Door and included a bonus copy of the 5 little pumpkins.


Flip Flap Trick or Treating (A Halloween Craftivity): I used this product with every client I had today.  You print and assemble the door and a treat bag to put candy in.  Knock on the door, open it to find different trick or treaters.  Open the page again and find the treat bag.  Add candy to your bag.  This was great for practicing /k/ and /g/, /t/ sounds as well as role playing and problem solving trick or treating in general.

In Celebration of my 1,000+ likes, I'm offering a giveaway of my Halloween Bundle AND a copy of Ed Emberley's new book: Nighty Night, Little Green Monster.  Please note: the winner will have to provide an address in order to receive the monster book.


This is a great book for fans of "Go Away, Big green monster."

Disclosure statement: I purchased the Nighty Night little Green monster book myself and received no compensation for promoting or giving it away.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

30 comments:

Arlen said...

My favorite was Dorothy from Wizard of Oz, complete with ruby slippers.

Carly said...

My mom always made our costumes growing up. I really loved having the chance to be whatever I imagined. She was pretty creative too! Since I am a triplet she would do match costumes when we were little. We have been the three blind mice, raggedy Ann(s) and Andy, Rub a Dub Dub Three men in a Tub.
I am not sure what costume was my favorite though.

Julie Graham said...

It seems like it was always snowing on Halloween. Big parkas under a costume with a plastic mask! Costumes are so much more creative today! Probably the most embarrassing costume was the year I dressed up as Frosty the Snowman wearing long johns! haha.

Valerie said...

My favorite costume growing up was when I dressed up as a bulletin board.

Speechie said...

I have the book Go Away Big Green Monster and love it. I have the puppet that goes with the book and the kids love do do the puppet with the book. I have not heard of this new book, but I sure would love a copy. I'm sure it's a good one.

Shannon Cole said...

Wonder Woman!

Shannon Cole said...

Wonder Woman!

Jennifer Bell said...

Raggedy Ann

Rhonda Ryder said...

Raggedy Ann!

annied said...

A Hobo!!

annied said...

A Hobo!!

Manda said...

One year my sister and I decided that we didn't want to go trick or treating...My mom isn't a fan of halloween anyway and usually started putting her Christmas lights up in October (she never turned them on until Thanksgiving, but b/c we lived in upstate NY, she put them up while it was 'warm' because she had a lot of them). Anyway, my sister and I decided to match the house, so we made our own Santa's elf costumes with construction paper hats, red and green clothing, jingle bells, etc. and answered the door with Christmas music playing. I wish I had a picture...

Manda said...

Santa's elves! (My mother always hung her lights in Oct. in Upstate NY b/c it was 'warm' then. She never turned them on until Thanksgiving). That was the year my sister and I decided we didn't want to go trick or treating, but we made our own costumes with red and green clothing, jingle bells, construction paper and answered the door to give out candy while Christmas music played instead. lol. I wish I had a pic...

Manda said...

Santa's elves! (My mother always hung her lights in Oct. in Upstate NY b/c it was 'warm' then. She never turned them on until Thanksgiving). That was the year my sister and I decided we didn't want to go trick or treating, but we made our own costumes with red and green clothing, jingle bells, construction paper and answered the door to give out candy while Christmas music played instead. lol. I wish I had a pic...

cee said...

a cat

Speech576 said...

A Clown...unfortunately it was the only costume that completely covered our snowsuits (to many October snow storms :)

Speech576 said...

A Clown...unfortunately it was the only thing that completely covered our snow suits, we had to many October snow storms growing up

elangevin said...

I was a hobo!

elangevin said...

I was a hobo too!

elangevin said...

I was a hobo too!

elangevin said...

I was a hobo too!

Tracy said...

I will never forget the homemade chicken costumes we made with my 5th grade class.

Sam said...

My grandma made many if my costumes when I was younger. My favorite was the year we dressed up as the power rangers (I was the yellow ranger).

Speechy Musings said...

I loved my clown costume!!

Speechy Musings said...

I loved my clown costume!

KD said...

My grandma made my sister and I matching fairy princess costumes... We loved them!

KD said...

My grandma made my sister and I matching fairy princess costumes... We loved them!

Amy Roberts said...

Twiggy!!! Does that show my age??

Amy Roberts said...

Twiggy! Does that show my age??

Speech2U said...

I love all these costumes! I grew up with the box and the plastic mask-I think I was wonder woman three years in a row. Amy Roberts-as Twiggy-I bet your eyes were fantastic!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...